Winter Wonderland


After last week’s depressing events I wanted to focus on some positivity with this week’s post, and I’ve always found that shopping – and especially FREE STUFF – is always a good way to beat the blues.

I found this awesome gift from one of my favorite housewares designers: Apple Fall: A beautiful weathered winter-white barn, The Hetton Barn Conversion. You don’t even need a group tag to pick up this beautifully rendered and textured building.  You can find it next the landing point at Apple Fall’s Mainstore. Get it before it’s gone!

I also found a this fun men’s Christmas-themed tee from <Kalbak>. It comes with an optional striped long-sleeve underlayer, is free for a limited time at Kalbak’s Mainstore for Kalbak group members.

Kalbak Free Group Gift

It’s rigged for Signature and Belleza Jake bods, and even though it doesn’t really fit my rather beefy shape, I wanted to share it here because it’s just so much fun, and so well made, just like all of <Kalbak>’s designs.

I thought this would be a quick photoshoot since I went to a public place for the setting and didn’t have to set the scene, just putting together a wintery outfit and taking some shots, but my ancient laptop made it another long, slightly aggravating experience.

Getting all the textures in the scene to load at the same time was a challenge again – even after I figured out I could temporarily de-render the entire Apple Fall Mainstore. It turns out it’s a phenomenon known as Texture Thrashing, and is a symptom of my low-end graphics card. I’m using a Macbook Air, and it’s just can’t seem to keep all textures in a scene loaded. Someday I’ll have a machine that can actually render Second Life property without me pulling out all my hair.

Regardless, I enjoyed putting together this winter look. It helped keep my mind off the fact that I’m not a pet owner any longer. I’m still getting used to not having a cat around here. It sucks missing little Velcro, but it is getting better. Every day this week was like a very dreary Monday. But I was actually in a good mood today, so that’s progress.

I’ve also been trying to deny that it’s actually winter here, but as I live in Canada it’s a bit hard to ignore, so I finally gave in and went shopping for some cozy knitwear and some fantastic new boots from [ VERSOV ] at the Men’s Dept.  New shoes make everything better!

FREE STUFFS!

OUTFIT

POSE

  • M I L A p o s e s ::  –  Man #08

WINTERY EFFECTS

BOD

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.